Keen Wa

As I continue my exploration of all things veggie, I stumble upon many new discoveries. My most recent discovery has been Quinoa. I literally had to look it up on YouTube to see how it’s pronounced. The answer: “keen-wa”. 

I bought a package in the frozen food aisle.  

It was super easy to make. I put a tablespoon of olive oil in a skillet on medium heat. I dumped in the bag of quinoa and 1/4 cup of water. I covered the skillet and let it cook for about 8 minutes while stirring it occasionally. 

While this was going on, I prepared myself a cute side salad to go along with it. 

  

After the 8 minutes were up, a scooped some quinoa onto a plate and topped it off with some Italian blend cheese. I’m pretty sure I put cheese on just about everything.

  

The result was delicious.The mixture with barley, red rice and sea salt gave it so much flavor that I did not put any added spices in the mix. 

Quinoa is now a kitchen necessity. 

3 thoughts on “Keen Wa

  1. cmj434 says:

    “The mixture with barley, red rice and sea salt gave it so much flavor that I did not put any added spices in the mix.” This is a good description but take it even further: what does it taste like? Compare it to another meal? This helps the reader decide if they should try it too.
    Also add the price of the product when you can. Your blog appeals to college students and a big question they all have is: “Can I afford it?” Price. Price. Price.

    Like

  2. pattyzavon says:

    Hey Kate! Great post and love your blog! We eat quinoa with brown rice at least twice a week and love it! I get the Seeds of Change Quinoa with Brown and Garlic from Amazon because it is cheaper than in the grocery store so I always have a supply on hand! And, it is microwaveable! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like

Leave a Reply

